Home > Hyper-V, Virtualization, VPC > How to Make an MS-DOS Bootable Floppy Disk for Hyper-V or VPC

How to Make an MS-DOS Bootable Floppy Disk for Hyper-V or VPC


If you are stuck trying to do this, you would be surprised at how quickly it can still be done. The Challenge is getting a boot sector – which you can override with a new set of MS-DOS files if require a specific version.

1.) Mount a Blank VFD

2.) Start a Windows XP VM.

3.) Attach a VFD to the XP VM after you have logged on to the XP VM.

4.) Right-click the floppy in the Windows XP Guest OS and select Format.

5.) Check the option to create an MS-DOS System Disk.

Post format you can do whatever you need to copy over the files on the disk if you need an older version such as MS-DOS 6.22. Overwrite files as needed as all you needed from step #5 was the creation of the boot sector.

Categories: Hyper-V, Virtualization, VPC Tags: , , , , , , ,
  1. June 24, 2013 at 7:18 am

    Good day very cool web site!! Guy .. Beautiful .. Wonderful .
    . I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally? I’m
    glad to find numerous helpful info here in the put up, we want
    work out extra strategies in this regard, thanks for sharing.
    . . . . .

  2. June 24, 2013 at 10:33 pm

    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your blog. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog visitors have complained about my website not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any solutions to help fix this problem?

  3. June 26, 2013 at 7:56 pm

    This article will assist the internet visitors for creating new webpage or even a weblog from start to end.

  4. July 3, 2013 at 2:09 pm

    Hey there I am so grateful I found your website,
    I really found you by accident, while I was searching on Google
    for something else, Regardless I am here now and would just like
    to say kudos for a incredible post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I donít have time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and
    also included your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will
    be back to read much more, Please do keep up the great
    b.

  5. July 23, 2013 at 3:57 pm

    Admiring the time and effort you put into your blog and in
    depth information you offer. It’s great to come across a blog every once in a while that isn’t the same out of date rehashed material.
    Great read! I’ve saved your site and I’m adding your RSS
    feeds to my Google account.

  6. August 20, 2013 at 7:52 am

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and entertaining, and without a
    doubt, you have hit the nail on the head. The problem is something which too few men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    I’m very happy that I came across this during my hunt for something relating to this.

  7. February 11, 2014 at 3:12 am

    One must practice the comic scripts beforehand at home.
    For more information on my Workshops, Writing Mastermind Groups and
    private coaching, please go to my website listed below and
    feel free to call me any time. If it feels weird coming out
    of your mouth, fake it.

  8. June 17, 2014 at 10:42 am

    We stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I might as well check things out.

    I like what I see so now i am following you. Look forward to exploring your web
    page for a second time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment